

Staff Council Standing Committee Minutes

Committee Name: Rewards and Recognition Committee

Meeting Date and Place: March 11, 2021 via zoom

Members present:

Joe lane, Jennifer Kavka, Mark Reynolds, Nate Faust-Schucker,

Grace Faustino,

Land Acknowledgement

Founded in 1889, the University of New Mexico sits on the traditional homelands of the Pueblo of Sandia. The original peoples of New Mexico – Pueblo, Navajo, and Apache – since time immemorial, have deep connections to the land and have made significant contributions to the broader community statewide. We honor the land itself and those who remain stewards of this land throughout the generations and also acknowledge our committed relationship to Indigenous peoples. We gratefully recognize our history.

	Subject	Notes
1	Approve Agenda	approve
2	Approve Minutes (from February 11, 2021)	approve
3	Old Business	
	1. Update on Black History month	Attendance about 45 people.
	Webinar panel discussion.	Recording on DEI webpage. Create calendar of events. All Staff council events. Do calendar for events.
	2. Virtual Brown Bag Lunch-n- Learn on Social Security Basics, set for Weds June 16th from 12-1:30 pm	Cherie Knight, Mark, Joe
	3. Strategic Planning group Section For Service	Where they need volunteers. Road runner foodbank, helping elderly for IT zoom, online forms etc. City to give suggestions for volunteering.

5	New Business	
	0004	February 2021 is Karen McElveny. Look at PAWS instructions. Redesigned PAWS process.
	:	For Outstanding Staff council award. Invite Exec. to score. Start nomination March 15-April 15 Scoring from April 16 – 30 th ; Awarded May 18 th ? Can score all but not your own nomination or someone you know well must. You must recuse yourself.
	3. Staff Appreciation week May or September 2021?	In September2021
	4. Other ideas?"let's do Lunch" about getting out of debt before retirement with HR (Joey-HR benefits)???	
6	Next Meeting	Next meeting will be April, 8 2021; 2-3pm

Rewards and Recognition Roster

Name	Email
Joe Lane (Co-Chair) *	
Amy Hawkins (SC administrator ex officio)	
Celeste Cole	
Della Willis	
Jennifer Kavka (Co-Chair)	
Keith Hitz	
Lorena Blanco-Silva	
Natalie Brigance (excused)	
Nate Faust-Shucker *	
Mark Reynolds *	
Grace Faustino *	